Bereichsbild 200x88
Contact

Communications and Marketing
Grabengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
Phone +49 6221 54-19012
Fax +49 6221 54-19020
kum@uni-heidelberg.de

Map (Ger)

 
Events
newsletter

Thumb Newsletter 09 70x100In their newsletter, the anniversary team kept you informed about the ongoing events on a regular basis.

All issues of the Newsletter

 
Home >

The Codex Manesse and the Discovery of Love

Heidelberg University Library exhibits priceless medieval manuscript in the original

 

UB_Heidelberg_Altstetten
We have records of the House of Altstetten dating back to 1166. The family resided in the Upper Rhine Valley and stood in the service of the abbot of St Gall. The "Minnesänger" portrayed here is probably Konrad von Altstetten, hereditary steward under the abbot, for whom there is documentary evidence from 1320 to 1327.

It was in the Hohenstaufen era that European literature turned its attention to the subject of courtly love, thus sparking off one of the most complex societal discourses of the time. The exhibition “The Codex Manesse and the Discovery of Love” is Heidelberg University Library’s contribution to the University’s upcoming 625th anniversary celebrations. The exhibit reveals the way in which the debate about ideal love is reflected in the written testimonies of the High Middle Ages. To mark the occasion, the Library will be exhibiting the famous Codex Manesse in the original, one of the rare occasions on which this magnificent collection of songs and verses in Middle High German will leave the air-conditioned environs of the library’s vault. The approximately 100 exhibits on show also include many other valuable manuscripts. The exhibition runs until 20 February 2011.

 

The Codex Manesse came into being in Zurich in the early 14th century, probably at the behest of Rüdiger Manesse and his son Johann. Their ambition was to assemble a representative collection of Middle High German lyric poetry reflecting its full range of genres and forms. The manuscript encompasses the work of 140 poets, with the earliest texts dating back to the mid 12th century. The Codex is one of the key testimonies to the literature and culture of the Hohenstaufen era. The poems are preceded by a total of 138 miniatures, idealised depictions of their authors going about their courtly activities. 

"Saget mir ieman, waz ist minne?" (Can anyone tell me what love is?) In the High Middle Ages, this concern with the true nature of love, voiced here by poet Walther von der Vogelweide, preoccupied itinerant troubadours, nobles and clerics alike. Countless texts and pictures tell us that a major change of attitude had come about. A knight was no longer content to possess the lady who took his fancy. He was out to conquer her heart. The onset of this many-voiced, idealistic approach to love not only changed relations between the sexes, it also transformed aristocratic identity and the conduct of affairs in courtly society. The poems and pictures in the Codex Manesse embody and epitomise this sea change in medieval social attitudes.

 

UB_Heidelberg_Brandenburg
Margrave Otto IV of Brandenburg (1266 - 1309) is known as "Otto with the arrow". During the siege of Staß an der Bode he was shot in the head by an enemy archer. His mistrust of physicians was so deeply ingrained that he left the arrowhead in the wound for a whole year.

The exhibition traces the discovery of love in the High Middle Ages as it is exemplified in the Codex Manesse and other valuable manuscripts and prints from the vaults of Heidelberg University Library. Most of the exhibits are lavishly illustrated, thus also giving the viewer a glimpse into German book illustration techniques between the 13th and the 15th century. A number of the most significant works of the Middle Ages are on show, for example Wolfram von Eschenbach’s "Parzival". In the course of the exhibition, the pages of the Codex Manesse will be turned four times to present different miniatures to the public.



 

The exhibition is divided into four sections. The first two are devoted to the origins and impact of the Codex and its transmission down the centuries. The third revolves around “The Discovery of Courtly Love”. The literature that began to flourish in the second half of the 12th century heralds in something sensationally new. At the courts of secular princes, poetry was no longer written in the scholarly Latin of the church but in Middle High German. Quite new was the idea of love that reigned supreme in both the epic and lyric poetry of the day. The subject of the fourth section is "The Power of Love". The dealings between knights and ladies called for in the ongoing discourse on courtly love take the form of an art based on complicated rules that first have to be mastered.

 

UB_Heidelberg_Knecht
To judge by the dialect in which the songs that have come down to us are written, Friedrich der Knecht came from Austria or Bavaria. He probably wrote his poems between 1215 and 1250. The miniature shows the poet abducting his lady.

Picture material: Heidelberg University Library

The University Library and Heidelberg University welcomed guests in the Great Hall of the Old University to the opening of the exhibition on Monday, 25 October 2010. There were speeches of welcome from Prof. Dr. Friederike Nüssel, Vice Rector of Heidelberg University, and the Director of the Library, Dr. Veit Probst. In the lecture at the heart of the ceremony, Prof. Dr. Ludger Lieb of the Department of German Studies spoke on "The Idea of Love. Text and Image in the Codex Manesse". Subsequently, Dr. Carla Meyer of the Institute of Franconian-Palatinate History and Area Studies outlined the concept on which the exhibition is based. In the course of the evening there were also musical interludes from Ilan Bendahan Bitton performing piano music by Bach and Beethoven.

 

The exhibition "The Codex Manesse and the Discovery of Love" was be open to the public at Heidelberg University Library until 20 February 2011.

 

The exhibition is a major contribution to the programme of events with which Heidelberg University presents itself to the public in its 625th anniversary year from October 2010 to October 2011. It also stands in close conjunction with the large-scale exhibition "The Hohenstaufen Dynasty and Italy" at the Reiss-Engelhorn- Museen Mannheim. The Codex Manesse exhibit was made possible by collaboration between the Institute of Franconian-Palatine History and Area Studies, the Department of German Studies, Heidelberg University Library and a group of committed students from Heidelberg University’s Department of History. A virtual tour of the exhibition is available at http://manesse2010.uni-hd.de.



E-Mail: Editor
Latest Revision: 2011-10-18

Bereichsbild 200x88
Kontakt

Kommunikation und Marketing
Grabengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
Tel. +49 6221 54-19012
Fax +49 6221 54-19020
kum@uni-heidelberg.de

Lagekarte

 
Veranstaltungen
Newsletter

Thumb Newsletter 09 70x100Das Organi­sations­team informiert Sie regelmäßig in einem Newsletter über die aktuellen Planungen zum Jubiläums­jahr. Die aktuelle Ausgabe ist im Oktober 2011 erschienen und steht Ihnen zum Down­load zur Verfügung. PDF, 440 KB

Alle Ausgaben des Newsletters

 

Der Codex Manesse und die Entdeckung der Liebe

Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg präsentierte wertvolle Handschrift des Mittelalters im Original

 

UB_Heidelberg_Altstetten
Das Geschlecht derer von Altstetten ist seit 1166 bezeugt und hatte seinen Sitz im Oberrheintal. Es stand in den Diensten des Abtes von St. Gallen. Vermutlich handelt es sich bei dem Minnesänger um den 1320 bis 1327 urkundenden Konrad von Altstetten, der das Meieramt innehatte.

In der Zeit der Staufer wurde die Minne als literarisches Sujet entdeckt und zum Gegenstand einer komplexen gesellschaftlichen Diskussion: Wie sich dieses Thema in den schriftlichen Zeugnissen des hohen Mittelalters widerspiegelt, war Gegenstand der Ausstellung „Der Codex Manesse und die Entdeckung der Liebe“, die die Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg als Beitrag zum 625-jährigen Bestehen der Ruperto Carola zeigte. Sie präsentierte zum Jubiläum den Codex Manesse – die prachtvoll gestaltete Sammlung mittelhochdeutscher Lied- und Spruchdichtung, die aus konservatorischen Gründen nur sehr selten die klimatisierten Tresore der Bibliothek verlassen darf – erstmals seit längerer Zeit wieder im Original. Zu den ingesamt rund 100 Exponaten gehörten weitere wertvolle Handschriften, die bis zum 20. Februar 2011 zu sehen waren.

Der Codex Manesse entstand zu Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts in Zürich – vermutlich auf Betreiben von Rüdiger Manesse und seinem Sohn Johann, die die mittelhochdeutsche Lieddichtung in ihrer gesamten Gattungs- und Formenvielfalt zusammentragen wollten. Die Handschrift umfasst 140 Dichtersammlungen, die ältesten Texte reichen zurück bis in die Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts. Die Handschrift ist eines der Schlüsselzeugnisse für die Literatur und Kultur der Stauferzeit. Den Texten sind 138 Miniaturen vorangestellt: Sie zeigen die Dichter in idealisierter Form bei höfischen Aktivitäten.

 „Saget mir ieman, waz ist minne?“ Diese Frage des Dichters Walther von der Vogelweide nach dem Wesen der Liebe beschäftigte seit dem hohen Mittelalter fahrende Sänger, Adlige und Kleriker. Wie in einer Vielzahl von Texten und Bildern immer neu reflektiert wurde, konnte es einem Ritter nicht mehr genügen, die von ihm begehrte Dame zu besitzen. Er wollte vielmehr ihr Herz erobern. Die vielstimmige Entdeckung des Themas Minne beeinflusste nicht nur das Verhältnis zwischen den Geschlechtern. Sie wandelte auch das Selbstverständnis des Adels und die Umgangsformen innerhalb der höfischen Gesellschaft. Die Lieder und Bilder im Codex Manesse fangen diesen Wandel exemplarisch ein.

 

UB_Heidelberg_Brandenburg
Markgraf Otto IV. von Brandenburg (1266-1309) trägt den Beinamen „mit dem pfile“. Er wurde bei der Belagerung von Staß an der Bode am Kopf von einem Pfeil getroffen und ließ diese Pfeilspitze – aus Misstrauen gegenüber den Ärzten – ein Jahr lang in der Wunde.

Am Beispiel des Codex Manesse und weiterer wertvoller Handschriften und Drucke aus den Tresoren der Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg illustrierte die Ausstellung die Entdeckung der Liebe im hohen Mittelalter. Die Exponate sind zumeist reich illustriert und gaben dem Besucher damit auch einen Einblick in die deutsche Buchmalerei vom 13. bis in das 15. Jahrhundert. Vertreten waren ein Großteil der bedeutendsten Texte des Mittelalters, darunter zum Beispiel Wolfram von Eschenbachs „Parzival“. Während der Ausstellung wurde der Codex Manesse viermal umgeblättert, um dem Publikum unterschiedliche Miniaturen zu präsentieren.

Die Ausstellung gliederte sich in vier Sektionen: Die ersten beiden Abschnitte beschäftigten sich mit Entstehung und Wirkung sowie dem Weg der Handschrift durch die Jahrhunderte. Im Mittelpunkt der dritten Sektion stand „Die Entdeckung der höfischen Liebe“. Die Literatur, die in der zweiten Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts zu blühen begann, gilt als epochales Novum: Statt im gelehrten Latein der Kirche wurde an den Höfen weltlicher Fürsten auf Mittelhochdeutsch gedichtet. Neu war jedoch vor allem die Idee der Liebe, die in Epik und Lyrik zum Thema wurde. Gegenstand der vierten Sektion war „Die Macht der Minne“: Der im Diskurs der höfischen Liebe geforderte Umgang zwischen Ritter und Dame präsentiert sich als Kunst, deren Spielregeln es erst zu erlernen gilt.

 

UB_Heidelberg_Knecht
Nach der Mundart der überlieferten Lieder stammte Friedrich der Knecht aus Österreich oder Bayern. Er verfaßte seine Gedicht vermutlich zwischen 1215 bis 1250. Auf der Miniatur ist dargestellt, wie der Dichter seine Dame entführt.

Bildnachweis: Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg

Zur Eröffnung der Ausstellung hatten die Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg und die Ruperto Carola am Montag, 25. Oktober 2010, in die Aula der Alten Universität eingeladen. Mit Grußworten wandten sich Prof. Dr. Friederike Nüssel, Prorektorin der Universität Heidelberg, und Bibliotheksdirektor Dr. Veit Probst an die Gäste. Im Festvortrag sprach Prof. Dr. Ludger Lieb vom Germanistischen Seminar zum Thema „Die Vorstellung der Minne. Bild und Text im Codex Manesse“. Anschließend gab Dr. Carla Meyer vom Institut für Fränkisch-Pfälzische Geschichte und Landeskunde eine Einführung in die Ausstellungskonzeption. Den musikalischen Rahmen mit Werken von Bach und Beethoven gestaltete Ilan Bendahan Bitton am Flügel.

Die Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg zeigte die Ausstellung „Der Codex Manesse und die Entdeckung der Liebe“ bis zum 20. Februar 2011 täglich von 10 bis 18 Uhr.

Die Ausstellung war ein zentraler Beitrag zum großen Veranstaltungsprogramm, mit dem sich die Universität Heidelberg im Jubiläumsjahr von Oktober 2010 bis zum Oktober 2011 der Öffentlichkeit präsentierte, und stand zugleich im Kontext der großen Mittelalterschau „Die Staufer und Italien“ in den Reiss-Engelhorn-Museen Mannheim. Sie war eine Kooperation des Instituts für Fränkisch-Pfälzische Geschichte und Landeskunde, des Germanistischen Seminars und der Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg sowie einer Gruppe engagierter Studierender aus dem Historischen Seminar der Universität Heidelberg. Ein virtueller Rundgang durch die Ausstellung ist unter der Adresse http://manesse2010.uni-hd.de zu sehen. Zur Ausstellung erschien ein Katalog.

E-Mail: Seitenbearbeiter
Letzte Änderung: 18.10.2011